Blog · Parenting

Breaking Free

So we’re four months into being a family of five and suddenly I have found myself slipping into my old habits. It’s half term and we’ve spent three days at home, checking facebook I see people posting pictures of these wonderful days out they’ve had with their children and I begin the inward self-berating thoughts.

Checking facebook I see people posting pictures of these wonderful days out they’ve had with their children and I begin the inward self-berating thoughts.

“You’re failing, you’re a bad mum, the kids are missing out, you need to do more, you need to be better”

Having suffered from chronic PND with my first two children, I have made it my mission for it not to happen again. Thankfully I am now aware of the road that leads to my self-destruction in these times, and there it is above. The thoughts that creep in are what will make a day, month or year a good or bad one.

So today I broke free today I sat and thought about the good things, thought about the laughs we’ve had playing games, watching how close my children are, how much we all love spending time together. So what if we’ve spent most of half term at home! I must remember having a four-month-old isn’t easy, having a four-month-old, 4-year-old and 6-year-old really isn’t easy!

I’ve seen so many posts poking fun at being mindful with children around. I get it, it’s funny how can you be mindful with kids running around screaming all day, a toddler dragging their heels with everything you do. However being mindful with my children around is what breaks me free from anxiety and the thought of not being good enough. Being mindful with my children around keeps me in check and on the best road for my family!

My Mindful Mantra’s

  • Breathe (Breathe a lot!)
  • One day our house will be quiet
  • You’re allowed to be sad
  • You deserve to be happy
  • Let it go
my petit canard
2 thoughts on “Breaking Free

  1. Mummy guilt is rife, I’m always feeling bad for not doing crafty things but I know I’m a good Mum in so many other ways and I’m doing my best as I’m sure you are! Thanks for linking up to #MarvMondays! Kaye xo

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

