Blog · Parenting

5 Tips For a First Time Parent

We are 5 months into life with three children and after my initial thought and fear of losing all control, it is actually going very well. Life is good with three and it certainly is our magic number.

Already I’m learning more about enjoying life as a mum and really beginning to appreciate the happiness and craziness children bring to our lives! Here are just a few tips I’d share with myself as a first-time mum if I could go back –

1. Routine is the key

Harriet has slotted into our lives perfectly. She wakes when the children do, sleeps when they’re at school and wakes when they come home. To me, it seems the routine we have works so well for a baby. When I had my first two I had absolutely no routine, I let them lead and it was awful! Now the mornings and later afternoons are lively, the rest of the time the house is quiet and peaceful. This seems to be the key with Harriet!

2. Stop caring!

I don’t care what anyone thinks anymore, what other mums are doing, whether I’m keeping up with any trends. I’ve found a new confidence I never had with the other two. Finally, I feel like a mum in control, a mum who knows what she’s doing and does it well (most days anyway). This confidence and not caring is what keeps my Post Natal depression at bay, I still have down days but they are far and few between because I’m much to busy enjoying my baby to let the negativity in.

3. Life’s too short

A few short years ago we lost our beautiful niece to septicemia caused by meningitis B. It has to be one of the saddest times of our lives. From this, I’ve learnt life is much to short to worry about what others think about how I mother my child. If my children are happy, healthy and smiling then that is all that matters to me. I do not want to waste my time worrying about what people think of how I’m feeding my child etc!

4. Life is what you make of it.

I lost my mum many moons ago, and when I had my first daughter I found myself grieving for her all over again. I would find myself wallowing in self-pity that I didn’t have that relationship. I hated seeing mothers and daughters at play groups to the point I stopped going. I let the feeling that life had dealt me such a hard blow take over. Then PND took over. Now I realise life is what you make of it, and I have made a wonderful family that I choose to enjoy right now. My past is the past, and in this moment I’ve got to be the best mum I can be by making the most of now, not wallowing in times gone by!

5. Invest in colourful baby grows!

We’ll finish up with my favourite. By the time you’ve dressed 2 adults and 2 children, you’ll have about 30 seconds for the baby. Pretty baby grows have been my saviour. She always looks so cute and comfy!

Cuddle Fairy
A Bit Of Everything
7 thoughts on “5 Tips For a First Time Parent

  1. Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant advice! You hit the nail on its head! #2 — why spend time caring about other people’s opinion and these people honestly do not even care about you in a good way! Thanks for sharing with #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We are expecting our second in May and I am hoping I may find a new inner calm when it comes to parenting and these tips will definitely help! I also love the baby grow point, I kept Monkey in baby grows up to 12 months and intend on doing the same thing this time round especially when there are such lovely ones in the shops at the moment. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope tot see you again next week x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

